Our Leadership

Wayne Marshall, PE
Chief Executive Officer

Wayne Marshall serves as the chief executive officer of Petra Energy Holdings, as well as managing director at Barnabas Investment Group, and was formerly a principal at Petra Engineering, PLLC. Mr. Marshall’s responsibilities include providing strategic leadership and managing the firms’ overall operations and resources.

Mr. Marshall previously led Petra Engineering from its inception in 2003 and has more than 35 years of experience in the energy and utility industry. Mr. Marshall co-founded Barnabas Investment Group in 2011 to invest in renewable energy, power generation, and cogeneration. Prior to founding Petra and Barnabas, he served in various roles within Duke Power, Duke Energy, and various Energy Service Companies (ESCOs). He has managed and executed energy conservation, cogeneration, power generation, renewable energy, environmental conservation, and supply management for industrial, commercial, and institutional clients. He has been closely involved in the development, design, procurement, construction, financing, and operational aspects of the business. Mr. Marshall has a distinguished career managing the development, negotiation, and implementation of numerous successful projects with Fortune 500 companies and governmental entities. Mr. Marshall’s broad-based energy engineering, renewable, and management experience in both retrofit improvements and energy conscious design has seen him involved in over $1 billion of energy and environmental projects.

Mr. Marshall is a Registered Professional Engineer in multiple states. He has served on and chaired national energy conservation, environmental conservation, and management advisory boards. Mr. Marshall has also received numerous national awards for technical innovation and leadership from the Electric Power Research Institute, Water Environment Research Foundation and others. Mr. Marshall was named Young Engineer of the Year for the state of North Carolina in 1995, was Chairman of Municipal Water and Wastewater Project Advisory Committee for EPRI and is an accomplished speaker at technical and industry conferences.